Adapting to Change — Building muscles for greatness

My dream of becoming an Andelan has been born from my interaction with the organization through the Google Africa Challenge Scholarship in collaboration with Udacity. I even shared my desire to join this amazing organization in my end of year review.

Receiving the invitation email to Andela’s Bootcamp was one of the happiest moments of my life. The feeling was as if I have just been declared the winner of a major election. However, my happiness was almost turned into my biggest nightmare when I received the Andela Developer Challenge. This was because I was not having my computer to work on the project. I felt like the whole world has just fallen on my head. I tried to reach out to some friends who could have computers but was unsuccessful. So I sent an email to the team explaining my condition and was very grateful the team has been very fair to me and given me the chance.

You should never view your challenges as a disadvantage. Instead, it’s important for you to understand that your experience facing and overcoming adversity is actually one of your biggest advantages. Michelle Obama

Fast forward the time has come for me to travel to Lagos for the bootcamp. I planned to travel on Friday so I can be in Lagos on Saturday since I was traveling by road. This was to ensure that I have enough rest before the start of bootcamp on Monday. However, my plans were strapped due to the governorship elections in Nigeria. No car was traveling from Accra to Lagos. I had to sleep at the bus station till Sunday morning. I arrived in Lagos late Sunday night and immediately set myself up for the task.

My major challenge was trying to work on the developer challenge I mentioned earlier. While others were working to improve their work, I was busily starting. In the beginning, it was very intimidating but I quickly put myself together to do the best work I can. I shared some of the lessons I learned from that experience in another post. I have to quickly adapt myself to work extra hard and was very happy to progress to the second week. This week brings its own challenges and I have made my mind to face it and make the best of the opportunity.

I have been able to integrate so well with fellow bootcampers, and almost a semi-Nigerian now. Very soon I might apply for citizenship. LOL

Just as was said by Michelle Obama, “ Just try new things. Don’t be afraid. Step out of your comfort zones and soar, all right?”

I have enjoyed my stay in Lagos and my experiences in bootcamp amidst the challenges which I believe are surmountable. Look forward to my full review after the bootcamp on Friday.